Photo: TCR Asia Media

Six round calendar revealed for the 2016 TCR Asia Series

The TCR Asia Series has revealed a six round calendar for its second season in 2016, with two events shared with the TCR International Series, starting in South Korea in May and ending again at Macau in November.

The TCR Asia Series will expand from four to six events in its sophomore season, adding races in South Korea and at China’s brand new Zhejiang Circuit in southern China in late October.

“2015 saw the introduction of TCR on a global level, and the formula proved an almost instant success,” said TCR Asia promoter David Sonenscher. “At the same time we introduced the TCR Asia Series, and whilst we always knew it would be a challenge in its first year, we saw solid fields and a lot of interest from competitors across the region.

“In the end, 22 people competed within the TCR Asia Series during the four events that made up the 2015 season, with 14 of those drivers competing in two or more events. Mixed in with the TCR International Series at three of the four races, the TCR Asia Series drivers often mixed it inside the top ten in the international field, with Asia Racing Team’s Rodolfo Avila a season best fifth at his home race in Macau.

“Off the back of the first season, we have a strong level of enquiry from teams wanting to be a part of the 2016 series, with both existing and new teams already confirming entries. Again we will join the TCR International Series at the Singapore Grand Prix and Macau, however the bulk of our season will be for TCR Asia Series teams alone, which will provide plenty of opportunities for the local stars to shine.

“We’re expecting an exciting year of growth with the TCR Asia Series off the back of what we saw and learned in 2015,” Sonenscher admitted. “It was great to see just how well the TCR Series concept was accepted across Asia and I think a number of the amateur drivers were surprised at just how competitive they could be against the International Series pros.”

TCR Asia Series 2016 calendar

Date – Event
May 15th – Korea International Circuit, South Korea
June 12th – Buriram International Circuit, Thailand
August 7th – Sepang International Circuit, Malaysia
September 18th – Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore*^
October 23rd – Zhejiang Circuit, China
November 20th – Guia Race of Macau, Macau*

* With the TCR International Series
^ Invitational Race