Photo: Daimler Global Press

Mercedes AMG announces driver pairings for the 2016 DTM season

Mercedes AMG has implemented a significant reshuffle of the allocation of drivers and teams for the 2016 campaign in the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters.

Following 2015 champion Pascal Wehrlein’s departure to pursue a career in Formula 1, the Stuttgart manufacturer announced last week the promotion of reserve driver Esteban Ocon to a full-time racing role.

Mercedes AMG has now confirmed the team and driver pairings for next season, with significant changes. Gary Paffett will remain at ART for the second year in a row, being now joined by debutant Ocon.

Team Mücke Motorsport will see its line up completely changed, waving goodbye to Daniel Juncadella and Maximilian Götz, now at HWA AG, and welcoming Lucas Auer and Christian Vietoris. Paul Di Resta and Robert Wickens will also continue to race at HWA AG.

Ulrich Fritz, Head of Mercedes AMG DTM, highlighted the need to reshuffle the teams in order to give his men a new benefiting challenge: “We decided to rearrange the allocation of drivers for the upcoming season to provide new impetus. I’m convinced that a change of environment gives people extra motivation. In particular, the exchange of ideas and of new approaches to dealing with challenges is to everyone’s benefit. We made sure that, in arranging the team, we combined DTM experience with youthful thirst for action.”

Mercedes AMG drivers and teams pairings:

Team ART:
#2 Gary Paffett
#34 Esteban Ocon

Team HWA I:
#12 Dani Juncadella
#6 Robert Wickens

Team HWA II:
#3 Paul Di Resta
#84 Maximilian Gotz

Team Mücke:
#22 Lucas Auer
#8 Christian Vietoris

2016 will see the debut of the new Mercedes AMG C63 DTM from the three-point start manufacturer.

The 2016 DTM season kicks off at Hockenheim on 6-8 of May.