Photo: Lestrup Racing Team

Lestrup Racing Team expand to two cars for Knutstorp

Lestrup Racing Team has confirmed to expand to a second Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR race car for the Scandinavian Touring Car Championship season opener at Knutstorp for Dennis Strandberg.

”I had a good experience in Germany last year and was strong on pace, so I definitely hope for a good start at Knutstorp,” said Strandberg.

The 23-year-old drove the TCR Germany season finale at Hockenheim last year in a Honda Civic for Target Competition, finishing second in both races.

His previous experiences include the British GT Championship and claiming the 2013 Ginetta GT5 Challenge Sweden title.

”After several years abroad I felt it was time to show my talents at home and the timing feels great with the new direction of the STCC. It is also extra fun that it is a new project for the team and I look forward to do this with Lestrup Racing Team,” said Strandberg.

Strandberg is so far only confirmed for the season start but the team has stated that their intention is for him to drive further races, as well as that they are talking to more drivers.

Lestrup Racing Team also runs a Volkswagen full season for Albin Wärnelöv in cooperation with Experion Racing.

Confirmed entries for the 2017 STCC

Micke Ohlsson – Audi RS 3 – Brink Motorsport
Tobias Brink – Audi RS 3 – Brink Motorsport
Marcus Annervi – Honda Civic – Rent A Wreck Racing
Albin Wärnelöv – Volkswagen Golf – Lestrup Racing
Dennis Strandberg – Volkswagen Golf – Lestrup Racing
Poker Wallenberg JR – SEAT León – PWR Racing
Robert Dahlgren – SEAT León – PWR Racing
Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky – Audi RS 3 LMS – PWR Racing
Fredrik Blomstedt – Volkswagen Golf – Kristoffersson Motorsport
Johan Kristoffersson – Volkswagen Golf – Kristoffersson Motorsport
Andreas Ahlberg – Volkswagen Golf – Micke Kågered Racing
Peter Möller – Volkswagen Golf – Micke Kågered Racing
Mattias Andersson – Honda Civic – Team Honda Racing
Kari-Pekka Laaksonen – SEAT León – LMS Racing
Olli Parhankangas – SEAT León – LMS Racing
Antti Buri – Audi RS 3 – LMS Racing
Niko Kankkunen – Audi RS 3 – LMS Racing
Nicklas Oscarsson – Kia Cee’d – TeamA Teknik
TBA – SEAT León – LMS Racing
TBA – SEAT León – PWR Racing
TBA – Honda Civic – TBA