Photo: TCR Europe

Jean-Karl Vernay handed formal reprimand for track limits infringement

TCR Europe series title contender Jean-Karl Vernay has been given a formal reprimand by race stewards for exceeding track limits during Saturday’s penultimate race of the season in Barcelona.

The Team WRT driver finished the first race of the weekend sixth, one place behind main rival Mikel Azcona, having charged through the field from 13th on the grid following a poor qualifying.

Vernay was adjudged by stewards to have breached Article 83 and Article 113 of the regulations (respecting track limits) and the decision was therefore to hand the Frenchman “a formal reprimand for a driving infringement”.

The decision has no effect on Vernay’s finishing position and the Audi RS 3 LMS driver will keep his points scored.

Vernay remains in contention for this year’s title, 24 points behind Azcona with 25 still up for grabs in the second race.

The final race of the season is scheduled to take place at 15:55 CEST.