STCC introduces three-race format for 2017

The Scandinavian Touring Car Championship organisation has announced a three-race format for the 2017 season.

”There will be more racing for both the spectators and drivers,” said Daniel Sporre, head of communications at STCC AB to Aftonbladet.

There have been no details so far released on the specific length of the races.

Further details have been released on the calendar that will feature just seven races compared to the eight in the preliminary calendar. The Norwegian circuit Rudskogen was supposed to be included for the main class STCC but will instead only feature support classes.

Preliminary 2017 STCC Calendar

Date – Location
May 4th-6th – Knutstorp, Sweden
May 19th-21st – Alastaro, Finland
Jun 16th-17th – Solvalla, Sweden
Jul 7th-9th – Falkenberg, Sweden
Aug 11th-13th – Karlskoga, Sweden
Sept 1st-3rd – Anderstorp, Sweden
Sept 14th-16th – Mantorp Park, Sweden