Photo: Racing Weekend

Edgar Florindo wins at Portimao, Francisco Abreu is the champion

Speedy Motorsport’s Edgar Florindo took his second victory of the year in the TCR Portugal series, and first in TCR Iberian during the fourth race at Portimao. Second in the classification was Francisco Abreu clinches both titles.

Florindo won the race in his SEAT ahead of Abreu’s Volkswagen, with his team-mate Manuel Giao in third . Pole-sitter Patrick Cunha could only manage fourth place at the wheel of his Audi RS 3 LMS, followed by the SEAT León DSG TCR of Joao Carvalho.

Joao Sousa was sixth overall and the winner in TCR2 with his SEAT León MK2, followed by Armando Parente at the wheel of a Honda Civic Type R. Nuno Santos completed the classification in eighth overall and third in the TCR2 class with a Volkswagen Golf.

The last round of the season was disastrous for Francisco Mora, who had dominated the season and arrived to Portimao a handful of points away from securing the title. However, a first lap incident in the first race caused severe damage to his SEAT León TCR, with Mora unable to take any further part in the weekend.

Abreu is also the TCR Iberian champion, with 154 points to his account, 44 ahead of Mora. In the TCR Portugal series, Mora took the title despite not scoring at Portimao, as only the 11 best results count towards the standings, with Mora ending the season on 241 points, with Abreu 18 points behind.