Photo: TCR UK

Largest grid yet set for Brands Hatch TCR UK rounds

The third round of the new TCR UK series is set to feature the biggest grid seen to date with at least 14 cars set to race at Brands Hatch.

So far this season, 13 cars took to the start at Silverstone for the season opener, with eleven cars then contesting the second meeting of the campaign at Knockhill.

The Brands Hatch grid was always expected to rise back to the figure seen in the first meeting of the year, with the two Cupra TCRs of Stewart Lines and Carl Swift returning to action having been fitted with new sequential gearboxes – a move that forced both cars to miss the trip to Scotland.

A new addition to the grid for this weekend is set to be the Wolf-Power Racing-run Renault Megane TCR of Alex Morgan.

Morgan is competing in TCR Germany with the car this season but elected to miss the second meeting of the season at the Most circuit in the Czech Republic to continue with development work on the all-new machine.

The British driver is due to complete a shakedown of the car today [Tuesday] in Germany before it is then brought to the UK for the Brands Hatch weekend, which will be used for testing purposes ahead of the third round of the German series at the Red Bull Ring.

Aside from the Megane, work is ongoing to try and get two other cars on the grid this weekend, with plans being put together that could see a third Cupra TCR and one other un-named car also join the grid.

TouringCarTimes understands however that plans for a second Honda Civic Type R to be entered by Team BMR have not come to fruition, with the team unable to get a new car prepared in time for this weekend’s meeting.

The other changes to the Knockhill entry will see Howard Fuller return at the wheel of the Sean Walkinshaw Racing-run Honda Civic having missed Knockhill, whilst Robert Gilmour debuts in the second DPE Motorsport Alfa Romeo after the departure of Aiden Moffat from the series.

Brands Hatch TCR UK Entry List (Provisional):

# – Driver – Team – Car
5 – Alex Morgan – Wolf-Power Racing – Renault Megane TCR
8 – Finlay Crocker – VFR Racing – Honda Civic Type R FK8 TCR
10 – TBA – TBA – Cupra TCR
19 – Andreas Bäckman – WestCoast Racing – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
23 – Dan Lloyd – WestCoast Racing – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
26 – Jessica Bäckman – WestCoast Racing – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
28 – Josh Price – BMR Autoglym Academy – Honda Civic Type R FK2 TCR
32 – Oliver Taylor – Pyro Motorsport – Honda Civic Type R FK2 TCR
38 – Lewis Kent – Essex & Kent Motorsport – Hyundai i30 N TCR
45 – Carl Swift – Maximum Motorsport – Cupra TCR
50 – Darelle Wilson – DW Racing – Vauxhall Astra TCR
60 – TBA – TBA – TBA
61 – Derek Palmer – DPE Motorsport – Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR
65 – Howard Fuller – Sean Walkinshaw Racing – Honda Civic Type R FK2 TCR
76 – Robert Gilmour – DPE Motorsport – Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR
95 – Stewart Lines – Maximum Motorsport – Cupra TCR