No further action on Dusan Borkovic and Attila Tassi Race 2 incident

The stewards of the TCR Europe series finale have ruled that no further action will be taken against either Dusan Borkovic and Attila Tassi following their Race 2 contact which sent both into retirement.

Title contenders Borkovic and Tassi started the second race from sixth and ninth respectively but were forced out at the end of the first lap after Borkovic’s Target Competition Hyundai i30 N TCR crashed into the side of Tassi’s KCMG Honda Civic Type R FK8 TCR.

It is understood that Borkovic had suffered a broken left rear upright on his car, resulting in the Serbian sliding off track approaching the chicane.

Unable to control his car, Borkovic then slammed into the side of Tassi, putting the Hungarian out on the spot and bringing out the safety car. Borkovic brought his car back to the pits but retired with terminal damage.

While Borkovic was unavailable for comment, a Target Competition mechanic confirmed the damage sustained before the eventual crash was the likely cause.

For Race 1 winner Tassi, who also had a slim chance of winning the title, it was a bitter-sweet way to end the season, with his KCMG squad winning the Teams’ championship.

“I don’t really know what happened, but it’s a shame because I had a really good start. Then I got hit by Borkovic and I finished in the gravel,” Tassi told TouringCarTimes.

“But the main thing is that we won the teams’ championship, I’m very happy for the team. We made our goal from Hungary to focus on this and it just feels great.”