Photo: TCR Australia

TCR Australia announce 2020 calendar including Bathurst

The TCR Australia series organisation has issued the 2020 season calendar, featuring two venues at Bathurst and a TCR Asia Pacific Cup.

The TCR Asia Pacific Cup will be held as a one-off event during the Australian Grand Prix at Albert Park, open for competitors from around the world. The race will not award points to the TCR Australia series.

“The Australian Racing Group is delighted to confirm the provisional calendar for the 2020 TCR Australia Series,” said series director Matt Braid.

“The introduction of the TCR Asia Pacific Cup is the perfect way to kick off the new season. There will be a lot at stake when our local teams go up against some of the best TCR drivers and teams from around the world on the biggest stage that this country has to offer.”

Sydney Motorsport Park will host the season opener on March 27-29th, followed by Bathurst on April 10-12th where TCR Australia will be part of the 6 hour event.

The third and fourth round will be held at Winton Raceway and The Bend, while the fifth round will be revealed “in the coming weeks.”

Phillip Island will host the sixth round on August 21-23rd and Sandown will host the season finale on September 11-13th.

A second, non-scoring, event will be held at Bathurst later during the year as part of the new fifth event at Mount Panorama, with further details to be revealed “in due course” by the organisation.

“Bringing Bathurst into our series is going to be a winner for everyone. It will be fabulous to see sprint touring car racing return to the iconic track in almost 25 years too,” said Braid.

“The TCR calendar featuring new and high profile events, plus the ability for the competitors to race against international competition further cements TCR Australia as the most international and market relevant touring car category in the the country for drivers and teams alike.”

2020 TCR Australia calendar

March 27-29 Albert Park*
April 10-12 Bathurst
May 1-3 Winton
June 12-14 The Bend
July 3-5 TBC
August 21-23 Phillip Island
September 11-13 Sandown
TBC Bathurst*

* = Non-scoring rounds