Photo: PSP Images

Simpson Racing withdraw from BTCC to leave 29 car grid

The Simpson Racing team has elected to withdraw from the 2020 British Touring Car Championship season having handed the TOCA BTCC Licence it owned back to the series organisers.

Rumours about the future of the Honda team has been rife for some time, despite it lodging an entry back in November when teams were required to lodge deposits with TOCA.

Having previously run in partnership with the likes of Speedworks, Team Dynamics and Eurotech, the team headed by Matt Simpson went it alone in late 2018 and ran as a standalone outfit throughout 2019 – where Simpson finished 23rd in the standings.

“Further to various social media posts and messages being received, I think it is only right that I update you all,” Simpson revealed. “Over the winter months, my son has started karting and has shown great interest in it. I therefore have decided to put my own racing career on hold and support him 100%.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of my loyal fans and sponsors for your support. It would not have been the same without you. I have had a blast, but now feel it is time to spend with my family. Thanks again.”

With TOCA electing to retain the TBL and not re-allocate it to another team, it means a field of 29 cars is now set to appear on track this season.

“Although TOCA received the required entry deposit back in November, Matt Simpson has since elected not to enter the 2020 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship,” TOCA said in a statement. “Therefore the TBL assigned to Simpson Racing has returned to the control of TOCA and will not be reissued this season.

“Teams must hold a TBL for each car entered in the BTCC, with 29 TBLs currently being controlled by teams and a further three licences retained by TOCA (but withheld from use).

“Everyone at TOCA and the BTCC would like to wish Matt and his family all the best for the future.”