Photo: TCR Denmark

Newly crowned champion Kasper Jensen wins final TCR Denmark race of 2020

Newly crowned TCR Denmark series champion Kasper Jensen won the last race of the 2020 season at Jyllandsringen.

The Massive Motorsport driver started from pole and controlled the race from lights to flag despite a safety car session.

Martin Andersen was hit by Peugeot driver Michael Markussen at Turn 1 on the first lap, sending the Hyundai into a big slide. Both drivers were able to continue albeit with damaged cars.

Race 2 winner Jacob Mathiassen made a strong start once again and was right on the rear bumper of Jensen on the first lap.

But the Alfa Romeo driver was unable to keep up with Honda driver Jensen and fell back into the clutches of LM Racing driver Jan Magnussen.

The safety car was brought out on track with nine minutes left of the race as Kim Lund had gone off track at Turn 4 and Markussen retired his Peugeot.

The race resumed with five minutes left and Magnussen made his move on Mathiassen for second, also allowing Honda driver Casper Elgaard to follow past into third.

Mathiassen seemed to suffer a technical issue and continued to drop down the order, finishing eighth.

Jensen won the race four seconds ahead of Magnussen and six seconds ahead of Elgaard.

Magnussen’s team-mate Nicolai Sylvest finished fourth ahead of Andersen, Kristian Moe Sætheren and Peugeot 308TCR driver Michael Carlsen.