Photo: TCR Australia

TCR Australia unveils 2022 calendar

The TCR Australia organisation has unveiled its calendar for the upcoming 2022 season, featuring seven rounds from February to November.

“It is a pleasure to release the calendar for TCR in what we are anticipating to be a real break-out year for it,” said Matt Braid, CEO of the Australian Racing Group.

“The stop/start nature of the past two seasons has been frustrating, but the support and enthusiasm from our great competitors has not wained. If anything, we are going to head into the year with more entrants than we would have expected in the current environment.”

The season opener will be held at Symmons Plains in February, followed by Phillip Island and Mount Panorama as part of the Bathurst Six Hour race weekend.

The fourth round of the championship is marked “TBA, NSW”, with rumours indicating Sydney Motorsport Park.

Queensland Raceway will host the fifth round, followed by Sandown and the inaugural Bathurst International as season finale.

“The mix of circuits that we have confirmed is exciting, as it offers great variety for the drivers and teams, and also gives rare access for fans to see an international motorsport formula compete in the southern hemisphere,” said Braid.

“It’s great to lock away the date for the Bathurst International. We appreciate the cooperation of the Bathurst Regional Council, as well as the promotors of Challenge Bathurst to facilitate the movement of dates to achieve the November 11-13.

“There is just one element of the calendar that need to be formalised, but we are pleased to lay down what is the foundations of the 2022 season and we can’t wait to see the teams get back to what they love most.”

2022 TCR Australia calendar
11-13 February – Symmons Plains
18-20 March – Phillip Island
15-17 April – Mount Panorama, Bathurst
05-07 August – Queensland Raceway
16-18 September – Sandown
11-13 November – Bathurst International