Photo: TCR Australia

Sydney date completes TCR Australia calendar

The final date on the TCR Australia calendar for 2022 has been confirmed, with Sydney Motorsport Park playing host to round four in May.

The date was the only one listed as TBC when the original schedule was released in December but will now slot into the space between the first Bathurst meeting in April and the Queensland Raceway event in August.

“Sydney Motorsport Park is one of the most popular venues on our calendar, and it’s fantastic that our suite of Australian Racing Group categories will race there in May this year,” Australian Racing Group CEO, Matt Braid said.

“The facilities at SMSP are among the best in the country. Our competitors love it and the teams and sponsors enjoy the hospitality.

“The circuit holds a special place in ARG’s history, having been the site for our first TCR Australia round back in 2019. That was a significant moment for the organisation, so we have found memories, and look forward to making more in 2022 and beyond.”

Josh Buchan won twice with Michael Caruso also victorious when TCR Australia raced in Sydney last season.

2022 TCR Australia calendar

11-13 February – Symmons Plains
18-20 March – Phillip Island
15-17 April – Mount Panorama, Bathurst
27-29 May – Sydney Motorsport Park
05-07 August – Queensland Raceway
16-18 September – Sandown
11-13 November – Bathurst International