Photo: TCR UK / Jakob Ebrey

Adam Shepherd added to JamSport line-up

Adam Shepherd has become the third driver to sign up with JamSport as the team prepares to join the TCR UK grid this season.

The former Ginetta Supercup driver – who will also be making his series debut – will be at the wheel of a Hyundai i30 N TCR alongside new team-mates Ant Whorton-Eales and Simon Tomlinson, who will race a Subaru and Cupra respectively.

Shepherd topped the times during the recent season launch test at Brands Hatch and is now working to secure the budget required to put together a full-season assault on the championship.

“The partnership between JamSport Racing and Shepherd Motors brings an exciting element to the campaign, as we’ve known each other a long time,” he said. “After previously winning four championships in FWD and RWD cars, as well as achieving success in the Ginetta Supercup rounds I entered, I’m looking forward to a new challenge in TCR UK and what is shaping up to be a huge year for the championship.

“The first outing in the Hyundai was at the recent media day and even having only had the car a few days before, I quickly felt at home driving it. It’s quite a bit different to what I am used to, being my first time in a FWD car on slicks but it was great fun and I was pleased with the lap times.

“We’re currently working on the budget for a full season and hoping that with some good results and the level of attention the championship is likely to attract, we’ll be able to draw in enough support to see the year out.

“I can’t wait to get started and see how things compare against a very strong grid in 2022.”

TCR UK – 2022 Entry List (6 April):

Lewis Kent – Essex & Kent Motorsport – Hyundai Veloster N TCR
Bradley Kent – Essex & Kent Motorsport – Hyundai i30 N TCR
Scott Sumpton – Essex & Kent Motorsport – Hyundai i30 N TCR
Jessica Hawkins – FastR – Cupra León TCR
Jamie Tonks – FastR – Cupra León TCR
Bruce Winfield – Area Motorsport – Cupra León TCR
Matthew Wilson – JW Bird Motorsport – Cupra León Competición TCR
Rob Butler – JW Bird Motorsport – Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR
Alex Ley – Daniel James Motorsport – Hyundai i30 N TCR
Brad Hutchison – MPH Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS
Hugo Cook – Simpson Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS
Ant Whorton-Eales – JamSport – Subaru WRX STI TCR
Simon Tomlinson – JamSport – Cupra León TCR
Adam Shepherd – JamSport – Hyundai i30 N TCR
Mark Havers – T4 Motorsport – Cupra León TCR
Russell Joyce – Power Maxed Racing – Cupra León TCR
Chris Wallis – Power Maxed Racing – Hyundai i30 N TCR
Callum Newsham – Power Maxed Racing – Cupra León TCR
Steve Gales – TBC – Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR
Isaac Smith – Race Car Consultants – Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR
Jack Depper – Capture Motorsport – Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR