Photo: TCR Denmark

Magnussen claims points lead as Jensen wins twice at Jyllandsringen

Jan Magnussen has claimed the TCR Denmark points lead while title rival Kasper Jensen won two of the three races at Jyllandsringen.

The GMB Motorsport driver started the first race from pole position and held the lead from lights to flag.

While Nicolai Sylvest briefly challenged Magnussen for second place during the opening lap, there was little action during the first race.

Jensen won the race in style, four seconds ahead of Magnussen and close to six seconds ahead of Sylvest in third place.

Championship returnee Martin Andersen drove a fine race to finish fourth ahead of Cupra driver Michael Markussen.

The second race had Halder siblings Michelle and Mike on the front row, with Mike claiming the lead from his sister as the lights went out.

The race was not to last long for Michelle Halder who was forced to retire on lap eight due to a broken driveshaft on her Honda.

Mike Halder of TPR motorsport won the race by close to six seconds ahead of GMB Motorsport driver Gustav Birch in second and 6.456 seconds ahead of Philip Lindberg (Honda) in third.

Race 1 winner Jensen finished fourth ahead of title rival Magnussen in fifth.

The third and final race had reigning champion Jensen on pole.

The Honda driver made a slow start and dropped to third, with both Lindberg and Mike Halder getting past into Turn 1.

Jensen did however soon pass Mike Halder for second and benefitted from a jump start penalty for Lindberg, which dropped the Honda driver down to third place.

Ex F1 driver Magnussen put hard pressure on Jensen for the lead, but the Honda driver managed to stay ahead.

Jensen won the race just six tenths of a second ahead of Magnussen, with Lindberg completing the podium, almost ten seconds adrift.

Mike Halder (Audi), who also received a penalty for jumping the start, finished fourth ahead of Rytter and Kevin Engman (Auto Lounge Racing).

Magnussen heads the standings by a single point over Jensen, while Mike Halder is third, seven points from the lead.

The next TCR Denmark race will take place at Padborg Park on September 15-16.