Photo: TCR Australia

Brad Harris gets Race 2 win after overturned penalty

Brad Harris crossed the line first in the second TCR Australia race at Phillip Island, only to be handed a penalty for jumping the start – giving the win to Aaron Cameron. But the penalty was later overturned and Harris got the victory back.

The Harris brothers held the reversed grid front row, with Brad Harris claiming the lead while Will Harris got a slow getaway and got into a tangle with Peugeot 308TCR driver Cameron.

Will Harris pushed Cameron wide heading into the first corner and there was further contact later on which saw the Honda driver spinning off and dropping down the order.

Will Harris was handed a five-second penalty for the contact with Cameron at the start.

Josh Buchan (Hyundai) was an early retirement after contact with Glenn Nirwan (Audi) who also retired.

Ryan Casha made it two Garry Rogers Motorsport Peugeots on the podium as he was able to get past Clay Richards (Cupra) for third on lap five after a close fight.

The race ended behind the safety car as Ashley Seward Motorsport driver Dylan O’Keeffe suffered a front-right puncture and went off in the final corner on lap 10/12.

Honda driver Harris won the race ahead of the Peugeot duo of Cameron and Casha.

Richard took his Cupra to fourth, with the second GRM duo of Ben Bargwanna and Jordan Cox rounding off the top six.