Photo: TCR South America

Casella and Montenegro claims first 2024 TCR South America pole at Interlagos

The Squadra Martino duo of Juan Manuel Casella and Ignacio Montenegro claimed the first TCR South America pole of 2024 at Interlagos in Brazil.

The Honda duo set a joint lap time of 3:28.099 for the endurance race which features two split sessions of 40 minutes each and a 20-minute break with driver changes.

Second fastest was the W2 Pro GP duo of Raphael Reis and Lucas Foresti, driving the new Cupra León VZ TCR model, trailing pole by just 0.044 seconds.

Galid Osman and Felipe Lapenna made it two W2 Pro GP Cupras in the top three, just below half a second from pole.

Squadra Martino drivers Rodrigo Baptista and Diego Nunes (Honda) set the fourth fastest joint time ahead of the PMO Racing duo of Pedro Cardoso and Celso Neto (Peugeot).

The fastest Toyota duo was the one of Juan Ángel Rosso and Facundo Marques of Paladini Racing, rounding off the top six, seven tenths from pole.

The 100-minute race starts at 12:21 local time/17:21 CEST on Sunday.