Photo: TCR Denmark

Kasper Jensen wins static first Jyllandsringen race

Reigning champion Kasper Jensen converted his pole position to victory in a static first TCR Denmark race of the weekend at Jyllandsringen ahead of main title rival Mike Halder.

TPR Motorsport driver Halder was slightly quicker off the line as the lights went out, but Jensen managed to stay ahead after two corners side-by-side.

And that was as much action as the race produced.

Honda driver Jensen pulled away at the top, with Halder alone in second and Jensen’s RaceGroup team-mate Malte Edbrup further back in third place.

Hyundai driver Silas Rytter came home in fourth for Insight Racing, with René Povlsen (Honda) close behind in fifth.

Michael Markussen (Cupra) managed to get past Gustav Birch (Honda) to snatch sixth place, while Philip Lindberg (Honda) rounded off the top eight and secured the Race 2 reversed grid pole position.

Honda driver Kim König retired with a technical issue on lap nine, making it ten cars taking the chequered flag.

The second race of the day starts at 14:30 CEST.