Photo: TCR China

Alex Hui and Sunny Wong continue enduro race success at Ningbo

Alex Hui and Sunny Wong have wrapped up Teamwork Motorsport’s third consecutive endurance race victory of the TCR China Touring Car Championship season, and have closed back up in the championship hunt.

The reversed grid saw the Audi RS 3 LMS of Filipe de Souza start from pole, but a slow start allowed the Son Veng Volkswagen Golf of Eric Lam into the lead at the start, with Zhu Zhen Yu’s CUS Volkswgaen second and Sunny Wong up to third.

Zhu then quickly passed Lam’s Volkswagen, with Sunny Wong now right behind and unable to find a way past and Zhu escaped.

The MacPro Racing Honda team suffered a problematic race, with first championship leader Henry Ho pitting with a puncture early on and well outside of the pit stop window.

Lam and Wong battled for second place up to lap nine, when Sunny Wong in the Teamwork car eventually was able to make his way past, but now Zhu was six seconds clear up the road.

A slow pit stop for Zhu however, meant that when Teamwork completed their pit stop, they were comfortably in the lead.

Anson Wong was now onboard the Son Veng Volkswagen having taken over from Lam, but an error saw him forced to rejoin the track, but in doing so crashed straight into Zhou Bi Huang’s CUS Racing Volkswagen, with Zhou falling behind de Souza’s Audi in third.

Alex Hui, now in the Teamwork Volkswagen, went on to win the race by 25 seconds over de Souza, with Zhu Zhen Yu and Zhou Bi Huang completing the podium.

With Henry Ho and Eurico de Jesus finishing in sixth, the championship now closes up to just nine points heading to next weekend’s race at the Shanghai International Circuit.