Photo: TCR China

Martin Cao and Jason Zhang share Zhuzhou opener victories

Hyundai driver Martin Cao and Lynk & Co driver Jason Zhang claimed one win each in the TCR China season opener at Zhuzhou.

MacPro Racing Honda driver Martin Xie started from pole in the first race but got a slow start in the wet conditions.

Instead it was Hyundai N driver Cao who claimed a lead he held throughout the race.

The safety car was called into action on the first lap following Turn 1 contact between Hyundai team-mates Andy Yan and Rainey He.

As the race resumed, trouble continued for Honda driver Xie who dropped down the order as Wu Yi Fan and Zhang passed him.

The red flags were brought out on lap 12 as Henry Ho Wai (Honda) crashed at Turn 10.

This saw Cao winning the race ahead of Audi driver Wu Yi Fan and Teamwork Motorsport’s Zhang.

The second race had Lo Sze Ho starting from pole, but the Hyundai driver was beaten into Turn 1 by Sunny Wong (Lynk & Co).

Zhang was on the move early on in the race and had made his way up to second place on lap two.

Two laps later and Zhang had caught Teamwork Motorsport team-mate Wong who made it easy for him to pass for the lead.

The safety car was called into action on lap seven as Zhao Di had stopped on track following an incident with Ho.

Zhang won the race comfortably ahead of team-mate Juan Carlos Zhu who clinched second, despite having a five-second penalty for an incident with Andy Yan who ultimately finished sixth.

Honda driver Xie finished a distant third, 14 seconds from race winner Zhang.

Zhang heads the points, three points ahead of Race 1 winner Cao.

The next TCR China race takes place at the Shanghai International Circuit on June 7-9.