Photo: TCR Asia

Rodolfo Ávila wins Tianma season finale to claim TCR China title

Rodolfo Ávila won the last TCR China race of the season at Tianma to secure the 2021 drivers’ title.

He finished second in the first race, 13 seconds behind MG XPower team-mate Cao Hong Wei, with Zhang Zhen Dong making it three MGs in the top three.

The second race was once again an all-MG affair for the top three places, this time with Ávila coming out on top.

Zhang Zhen Dong finished a close second, just six tenths of a second behind, with Wang Tao completing the top three for Autohome Racing Team.

Ávila claimed the title on 191 points, with Zhang Zhen Dong second on 183 points.

The Teamwork Motorsport Lynk & Co drivers were absent for the second race day at Tianma as it was not part of the TCR Asia calendar compared to the joint first TCR Asia/China race day.