Photo: TCR Australia

13 cars entered for 2023 TCR Australia opener

The 2023 TCR Australia series kicks off at Symmons Plains Raceway this weekend, featuring a field of 13 cars, a reduction of seven cars compared to last year’s season opener.

Reigning champion Tony D’Alberto is back with Wall Racing to defend his title, racing the older generation Honda Civic Type R TCR with plans to switch to the new generation Civic later in the season. Wall Racing has reduced its entry this year from two cars last year to one this season.

HMO Customer Racing will field two Hyundais, with Josh Buchan racing the new Hyundai Elantra N TCR while team-mate Bailey Sweeny, who topped the first practice session, continues to race the older i30 N TCR model.

Four Peugeot 308TCRs will be on the grid from Garry Rogers Motorsport with drivers Ben Bargwanna, Aaron Cameron, Jordan Cox and Kody Garland.

Former BTCC race winner Tom Oliphant will drive the sole Alfa Romeo Giuliuetta TCR of the field for Ashley Seward Motorsport.

Last year’s runner-up Will Brown continues for Melbourne Performance Centre, switching to the new generation Audi RS 3 LMS.

A total of five Audis will be on the 2023 grid, with Zac Soutar racing a new generation RS 3 LMS while privateers Iain McDougall, Michael Clemente and Lachlan Mineeff will race the first generation RS 3 LMS.

The first two practice sessions of the season opener have been completed, with qualifying and Race 1 scheduled for 13:20 and 16:10 AEDT on Saturday respectively.

Race 2 and 3 will be held on Sunday at 13:30 and 16:10 AEDT.

2023 TCR Australia entry list

# – Driver – Team – Car
1 – Tony D’Alberto – Honda Wall Racing – Honda Civic Type R TCR
9 – Will Brown – MPC Team LIQUI MOLY – Audi RS 3 LMS TCR Gen2
14 – Lachlan Mineeff – Forza Brakes Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS TCR Gen1
15 – Michael Clemente – Carl Cox Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS TCR Gen1
18 – Aaron Cameron – Team Valvoline GRM – Peugeot 308TCR
22 – Iain McDougall – Challenge Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS TCR Gen1
30 – Josh Buchan – HMO Customer Racing – Hyundai Elantra N TCR
33 – Jordan Cox – Schaeffler GRM – Peugeot 308TCR
41 – Kody Garland – Valvoline Racing GRM – Peugeot 308TCR
71 – Ben Bargwanna – Burson Auto Parts Racing – Peugeot 308 TCR
110 – Zac Soutar – Tufflift Racing – Audi RS 3 LMS TCR Gen2
115 – Tom Oliphant – Autoglym ASM – Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR
130 – Bailey Sweeny – HMO Customer Racing – Hyundai i30 N TCR