Michael Choi confirmed as inaugural TCR Asia Series champion

Prince Racing’s Michael Choi has won the 2015 TCR Asia Series in its first season following qualifying, while the TCR International Series champion will be decided on Sunday.

Choi has won the title courtesy of consistency and attendance, with his only two mathematically competitors not taking part in this weekend’s race.

Philippe Descombes was Choi’s closest rival, having won two of the first three races of the season, but his principal role is as team manager for the Asia Racing Team, and hasn’t driven the car since.

Filipe de Souza was mathematically the only driver in contention for the title, though the Macanese driver would have needed to win both races to close the gap to Choi in the standings. Though present in Macau, de Souza has opted to drive a Chevrolet Cruze in the CTM Macau Touring Car Cup, and as drivers can only compete in one class of the Macau Grand Prix, he’s ruled out of TCR Asia.

Choi qualified in 20th position for the TCR Asia class at Macau, with Asia Racing Team’s Rodolfo Ávila taking the class pole in his SEAT León, setting the tenth fastest time overall.