Photo: Volvo Polestar Racing

Volvo confirm three-car challenge for 2014 STCC

Volvo Polestar Racing will field just three cars for this year’s Scandinavian Touring Car Championship season, with last year’s champion Thed Björk returning alongside the 2012 TTA Series champion Fredrik Ekblom, with Prince Carl Philip Bernadotte the team’s third driver.

The team therefore is reducing its challenge from five to three S60s since last season. 23-year-old Linus Ohlsson will not return after just one season with the Swedish manufacturer, and will announce his plans soon, while Robert Dahlgren is now racing for the Volvo in the V8 Supercars Championship in Australia.

“The goal for 2014 is to defend the title and we have no doubt a really strong line-up for this year’s challenge,” said Derek Crabb, Motorsport Director of Volvo Cars. “Both Fredrik and Thed have won the title once for Volvo Polestar Racing, the fight between them and the other drivers in the championship is for sure going to be worth seeing this year.”

Volvo’s drivers finished first, third, fourth, fifth and 13th in the 2013 STCC season’s standings. Thed Björk won his second ever STCC title with eight wins from the 12 races last year, and is aiming for a repeat this season.

“I value the STCC title of last year as one of the absolute best in my career,” he said. “But with that said, my hunger for new victories has not stopped. My goal is the same as last year, to take the title! But I know that my team mate Fredrik is looking for revenge after last year’s tough season and he is going to be a hard competitor this year.”

His team-mate and 2012 TTA Series champion Fredrik Ekblom has his sights set on a return to form after a problematic 2013 season.

“I had a bit too much trouble in the early part of the season last year,” said Ekblom. “That is why my lust for revenge is stronger than ever and I have my goal firmly set on the title, there is nothing else for me. Thed had an amazing season last year but there are many drivers wanting to beat him this year, including me.”

So far, the only other confirmed entries for the 2014 STCC are Richard Göransson in the Team Tidö Saab 9-3 and Mattias Andersson, driving for the Dacia Dealer Team.

Announcements from WestCoast Racing, Brovallen Design and PWR Racing are expected shortly.

The season gets underway on May 10th at the Knutstorp circuit.