Photo: SEAT Sport

New series gets approved by FIA, renamed TCR

The FIA World Motor Sport Council has given approval for the new TC3 series in 2015, which will be renamed the TCR International Series for its inaugural season.

The FIA has to sanction all international motorsport championships. The promoter of the series has been recognised as WSC Ltd. run by Marcello Lotti, who has now been appointed as the CEO of the company, a year after leaving his position as General Manager of the FIA World Touring Car Championship.

“The name TC3 has been chosen to introduce the technical concept of a global Touring Car category, based on production cars, that was affordable to private teams and drivers and inspired by the existing GT3 concept,” said Lotti.

“We have decided on the change of name of the series to TCR that will create a strong and personal identity for the new series. In addition, the name change will avoid any potential confusion with other touring car championships and series that might suggest pre-arranged hierarchies.”

The TCR International Series has already revealed details of its 12 event calendar for 2015, with the final date in November still to be confirmed, but the series is expected to take over the Guia Race of Macau, with the WTCC instead moving its season finale to Losail in Qatar from next season.

TCR International Series 2015 Calendar

29th March – Sepang International Circuit, Malaysia
12 April – Shanghai International Circuit, China
3 May – Circuit de la Comunitat Valenciana Ricardo Tormo, Spain
10 May – Autódromo Internacional Algarve (Portimão), Portugal
24 May – Autodromo di Monza, Italy
31 May – Salzburgring, Austria
21 June – Sochi Autodrom, Russia
26 July – Autódromo Juan y Oscar Gálvez (Buenos Aires), Argentina
9 August – Autódromo Internacional Codegua, Chile
20 September – Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore
25 October – Buriram International Circuit, Thailand
22 November – TBA