Photo: TCR Media

Major grid shake-up after raft of qualifying penalties

Some 12 drivers were penalised after qualifying at Singapore. The grid for the TCR International Series races has been dramatically changed by a series of decisions from the stewards, which still keep Jean-Karl Vernay’s pole position safe.

Gianni Morbidelli, Martin Cao, Davit Kajaia and Petr Fulín all received a six-place grid drop due to repeated track limits infringements. Kevin Gleason and Jordi Oriola will drop three places instead. The huge list of drivers who lost their fastest lap time includes Mikhail Grachev, Davit Kajaia, Petr Fulín, Gianni Morbidelli, Martin Cao, Kevin Gleason, Jordi Oriola, Dušan Borković, Douglas Khoo, Pepe Oriola, Rafaël Galiana and Neric Wei.

As a result Vernay will share the front row with Mat’o Homola, with Stefano Comini and Pepe Oriola behind them. Championship leader James Nash will start in fifth.

As for Race 2, Gleason loses his reversed-grid pole position, which goes to WestCoast Racing team-mate Mikhail Grachev, sharing the front row with B3 Racing’s Dusan Borkovic, followed by Afansyev, Tassi, Nash and Oriola.

Below is listed the new starting grid for the first race, which starts at 19:25 local time.