Photo: PSP Images

TouringCarTimes’ top ten NGTC cars

We’ve already taken a look at the top cars from the Super Touring era of touring car racing, so it seemed to make sense to also look at modern day racing in the latest of our top ten countdowns.

Now making up the entire British Touring Car Championship grid, cars built to the series’ NGTC regulations first appeared on the grid back in 2011, with 14 different marques having been represented in the years that have followed.

We’ve looked into the statistics behind the cars to put together our list of the top chassis, which might spring a surprise or two along the way…

10 – VW CC (RML 131 004/14)

The Volkswagen CC has proven to be a success in the series despite its size, with RML 131 004/14 being the most successful of the four cars to appear on track. Debuting mid-way through 2014, Aron Smith (with two teams) and Colin Turkington both took victory at the wheel, with the car having finished on the podium 13 times.

9 – BMW 125i M Sport (F21-2015-04)

The newest of the four BMWs to have been built by West Surrey Racing, F21-2015-04 only debuted in the series in 2016 but earns a place on the list thanks to the results seen in the last two years. A championship contender in the hands of both Sam Tordoff and Colin Turkington, the car boasts an impressive record of 22 podiums from 60 starts and is highly likely to be in the mix for honours again in 2018.

8 – Subaru Levorg (BMR 039-01)

The first championship winner to appear on the list, BMR 039-01 was the first Subaru Levorg to be built by Team BMR ahead of the 2016 season, when it was raced by team boss Warren Scott. It earns its place on the list thanks to the success of Ash Sutton in securing the title last year, with the car having now taken 15 podiums from just 55 starts.

7 – Toyota Avensis (SWM 001)

A grand total of eight Toyota Avensis chassis have raced in the BTCC but SWM 001 is by far and away the most successful. Built by Willie Poole Motorsport and Speedworks, the car has wracked up six wins, 17 podiums and has led nearly 150 laps over the last three seasons in the hands of Tom Ingram – regularly taking the fight to the bigger teams and winning the Independents crown last year.

6 – Honda Civic (NGTC-12-005)

First raced back in 2013, NGTC-12-005 has appeared as three different variants of the Honda Civic – Hatch, Tourer and Type-R – but has only ever been driven by Matt Neal. A winner in each of the four seasons it has competed (having been parked up in 2015), the car broke through the 1,000 points barrier in 2017 and has a record of ten wins and 33 podiums.

5 – Ford Focus (MBP-004-2014)

MBP-004-2014 is a special car for Motorbase, having been named the Gary B in memory of the late Gary Britnell – a close friend of team boss David Bartrum. Debuting in 2014, the car has been the most successful Ford Focus on track by some margin, with a fine record of 12 wins and 27 podiums. Despite only completing a half season in 2015, it would lead more laps that year than any other car.

4 – Honda Civic (NGTC-12-003)

Built by Team Dynamics for Eurotech Racing, NGTC-12-003 is the most successful Honda Civic not to have been used as a works car. Carrying Andrew Jordan to the 2013 title, the car boasted an impressive record of 11 wins and 28 podiums but had to be scrapped after Jeff Smith’s accident at Croft last year – making it the only chassis on this list that will never race again.

3 – BMW 125i M Sport (F21-2013-02)

The most successful of the BMW 125i M Sports, F21-2013-02 was the car used by Colin Turkington to secure the championship title in 2014 but has also proven to be a winner in the hands of both Andy Priaulx and Andrew Jordan. Having now contested 150 races, the car has an impressive record of 18 wins, 43 podiums and 21 fastest laps and is just one lap short of leading 400 laps.

2 – Honda Civic (NGTC-12-002)

The third Honda Civic to appear on our list, NGTC-12-002 is a double championship winner having taken Gordon Shedden to the crown in both 2012 and 2015. In four years being used by the Scot, the car won 20 times and picked up 56 podiums – the most of any NGTC machine. Having been acquired by Matt Simpson for the 2016 season, the car would be parked up last year after being involved in a heavy crash in Spain, and would be rebuilt to become the Team Dynamics’ spare.

1 – MG6 GT (V2012-C-0510-002)

Ask anyone to pick the top NGTC car and the MG6 probably wouldn’t sit at the top of the list, but in statistical terms, V2012-C-0510-002 is right up there. Thanks largely to a three-year stint being driven by Jason Plato, the car has picked up more wins (22) and more poles (15) than any other NGTC chassis. It’s also the car that took Jack Goff and Ash Sutton to their maiden victories and needs to pick up two more podiums to reach a half century in the series.

Chassis information courtesy of the Touring Car Register