Photo: Erebus Motorsport

David Reynolds beats Scott Mclaughlin to victory in Darwin

Erebus Motorsport driver David Reynolds claimed victory in the final Supercars championship race of the weekend in Darwin after an impressive start where he claimed the lead into the first corner from third on the grid.

Championship leader Scott McLaughlin started second and fought hard with Nissan Motorsport driver Rick Kelly, who had claimed pole position.

Things looked to get an early end for the DJR Team Penske driver as smoke started pouring from his Ford Falcon.

But as the race progressed, the smoke decreased and McLaughlin was able to make his way up to second position, past Kelly during the second pit stop.

There was a safety car session on lap 55 due to debris on track with no position changes at the top as the race resumed.

Triple Eight Race Engineering drivers Jamie Whincup and Shane van Gisbergen claimed positions three and four, with van Gisbergen benefiting from the late safety car session after a long second stint that saw him get past Nick Percat and Kelly.

Kelly, who started from pole position, finished fifth ahead of Percat, with Holden driver Garth Tander and Ford driver Fabian Coulthard rounding off the top eight.

McLaughlin remains in the lead of the championship, 161 points ahead of van Gisbergen and 327 points ahead of Reynolds.

The next round of the Supercars championship takes place on July 6-8th at Townsville.