Chaz Mostert breaks lap record to Bathurst 1000 pole position

Chaz Mostert broke the qualifying lap record to claim pole position for the Bathurst 1000 race with co-driver Lee Holdsworth in the Top Ten Shootout.

The Walkinshaw Andretti United driver’s lap of 2:03.373 was the fastest ever recorded Supercars lap at Mount Panorama, beating Scott McLaughlin’s previous record of 2:03.481 from 2019.

A total of five drivers went below 2:04 during qualifying, with Dick Johnson Racing driver Anton De Pasquale in second place, close to three tenths from pole.

Cameron Waters made it two Fords in the top three, claiming third with just 0.023 seconds between him and De Pasquale.

Brodie Kostecki claimed fourth on the grid for Erebus Motorsport, four tenths from pole.

Will Brown was fifth fastest ahead of Tim Slade in sixth and newly crowned champion Shane van Gisbergen in seventh.

Will Davison rounded off the top eight for Dock Johnson Racing, 1.4 seconds from pole.

The Bathurst 1000 race starts at 12:15 local time/02:15 CET tomorrow.