Van Gisbergen wins as De Pasquale is penalised for last lap hit

Shane van Gisbergen made it a Supercars Championship double at Townsville, but only after Anton De Pasquale was hit with a five-second penalty for tagging the reigning champion into a spin at the last corner of the last lap.

DJR driver De Pasquale took the lead at the start of the race, out dragging pole sitter Cameron Waters into Turn 1.

The safety car was called out on the first lap as Will Davison and Scott Pye clashed at Turn 3, resulting in a retirement for Pye while Davison was able to continue to finish seventh.

Triple Eight driver van Gisbergen had claimed the lead by the time the first pit stops were completed, heading De Pasquale by almost two seconds.

De Pasquale then started to close in on van Gisbergen as the race neared its end and made a deep dive to the inside of the Holden rival at the last corner of the last lap.

The two made contact, sending van Gibsergen into a spin.

De Pasquale tried to hand the position back to van Gisbergen, with the reigning champion refusing in order for the DJR driver to be hit with a penalty.

And so he was, handing the win to van Gisbergen while De Pasquale had to settle for second.

Waters finished third for Tickford Racing ahead of James Courtney and Chaz Mostert. Holden driver Broc Feeney rounded off the top six.

Van Gisbergen heads the standings with a margin of 274 points to De Pasquale and 330 points over Waters.

The next Supercars Championship round will take place at The Bend on July 29-31.