Photo: TCR South America

PMO Racing drivers Leonel Pernía and Rafael Suzuki claims Velocitta wins

PMO Racing completed a perfect TCR South America weekend at Velocitta by claiming pole position and two wins courtesy Leonel Pernía and Rafael Suzuki.

Peugeot driver Pernía started from pole and claimed the lead as the lights went out.

The safety car was called into action on lap five following a crash by Fabián Yannantuoni.

There was a fight for fourth place as the race restarted between Honda driver Rodrigo Baptista and PMO Racing driver Pedro Cardoso, who had claimed pole but started sixth due to a grid penalty.

The two made contact, with Cardoso dropping down while Baptista was handed a five-second penalty for the incident which sent him down from fourth to sixth.

Pernía won the race just over three seconds ahead of Toyota driver Matías Rossi while W2 Pro GP Cupra driver Galid Osman rounded off the podium.

The second race had Marcos Regadas starting from the reversed grid pole position.

But he quickly lost the lead as he stalled on the grid, with Suzuki (Peugeot) instead snatching the lead ahead of Paladini Racing driver Juan Ángel Rosso from the second row of the grid.

Rosso was unable to keep second place as Cupra driver Raphael Reis managed to get past early in the race.

While Suzuki leapt ahead in the lead, Rosso was attacked by Reis’ W2 Pro GP team-mate Osman who snatched third on lap 15.

Suzuki won the race close to four seconds ahead of Reis, while Osman lost third due to a ten-second penalty for an incident with Baptista earlier in the race.

This demoted Osman to seventh while Rosso inherited the final podium position.

Rosso heads the standings on 130 points, five more than Cardoso and nine more than Reis.

The next TCR South America round takes place at Interlagos together with the FIA TCR World Tour on July 19-21.