Photo: TCR UK

Henry Neal takes pole for Donington finale; TCR points leader James Turkington only seventh

Henry Neal claimed pole position for the final round of the Touring Car Trophy season at Donington Park, while Darelle Wilson was the best of the TCR UK runners, just nine-hundredths of a second behind.

The Team Dynamics driver set a best time of 1:11.095 in his FK2 Honda Civic Type R to go just 0.092s quicker than Wilson’s DW Racing Vauxhall Astra TCR.

Neal had started the session strongly, initially setting a benchmark of 1:11.284, which was just over seven-tenths faster than the Renault Megané RS TCR of late entry Alex Morgan.

Morgan narrowed the deficit to just over a tenth of a second with a pair of quicker laps, while the guest entrant of Adam Morgan in the Cupra TCR setting the third fastest time, himself only a fraction slower than Wilson.

The latter Morgan then went fastest with a 1:11.193, which was a full three-tenths better than Neal, but the Honda responded with his best lap just minutes later.

Having led a TCR UK one-two-three in practice, Wilson then put in a late effort to go second, just nine-hundredths off Neal’s quickest time.

Adam Morgan finished the session third fastest, with Alex Morgan fifth.

TCR UK Series title contender Lewis Kent was fourth fastest in his Essex and Kent Hyundai i30 N TCR after a late effort in the session.

Orange Motorsport’s Nick Halstead was sixth fastest in his Honda Civic.

Points leader James Turkington however was only seventh in his Cicelely Motorsport Cupra TCR, half a second off the pace of Neal. Turkington is 16 points ahead of Kent who gained three points on the Cupra driver after this session.

Will Neal followed in eight ahead of Team HARD’s Darron Lewis, while Paul Taylor rounded out the top ten.

Race 1 at Donington Park is scheduled to take place tomorrow morning at 10:15 BST with Race 2 taking place at 13:45.