Photo: TCR Italy

27 cars entered for Monza season opener

The TCR Italy season opener grid at Monza this weekend will feature 27 cars, a new record for the Italian championship.

Reigning champion Salvatore Tavano is back with Scuderia del Girasole and will face stiff opposition from, amongst others, Eric Brigliadori who was champion for a couple of weeks after the 2020 season finale.

There are several new drivers to the championship, including reigning TCR Germany champion Antti Buri who will drive one of Target Competition’s two Hyundais.

Kevin Giacon will drive the new Fiat Tipo TCR for Tecnodom Sport, a team that will also field a Honda Civic Type-R TCR for his brother Jonathan Giacon.

The Monza weekend starts with free practice and qualifying tomorrow (Friday) while Race 1 will be held on Saturday at 13:40 CEST and Race 2 on Sunday at 10:10.

2021 TCR Italy entry list

2 Andrea Argenti (South Italy Racing Team, Opel Astra TCR)
4 Salvatore Tavano (Scuderia del Girasole, CUPRA Leon Competición)
6 Raffaele Gurrieri (Scuderia del Girasole, CUPRA Leon Competición)
7 Jonathan Giacon (Tecnodom Sport, Honda Civic Type-R TCR)
8 Antti Buri (Target Competition, Hyundai i30 N TCR)
11 Damiano Reduzzi (Team Trico WRT, Hyundai i30 N TCR)
13 Nicola Baldan (Target Competition, Hyundai i30 N TCR)
14 Igor Sefanovski (AKK Stefanovski, Hyundai i30 N TCR)
16 Evgenii Leonov (Volcano Motorsport, CUPRA TCR)
18 Kevin Giacon (Tecnodom Sport, FIAT Tipo TCR)
21 Nicola Guida (Scuderia del Girasole, CUPRA Leon Competición)
25 Mattias Vahtel (ALM Motorsport, Honda Civic Type-R TCR)
27 Ruben Volt (ALM Motorsport, Honda Civic Type-R TCR)
28 Federico Paolino (Scuderia del Girasole, CUPRA Leon Competición)
31 Kevin Ceccon (Aggressive Team Italia, Hyundai i30 N TCR)
33 Riccardo Romagnoli (Proteam Motorsport, CUPRA TCR)
47 Ettore Carminati (CRM Motorsport, Hyundai i30 N TCR)
52 Dušan Kouřil (K2 Engineering, Hyundai i30 N TCR)
61 Michele Imberti (Élite Motorsport, CUPRA Leon Competición)
68 Eric Brigliadori (BF Motorsport, Audi RS 3 LMS)
69 Matteo Poloni (Race Lab, Audi RS 3 LMS)
82 Marco Butti (Élite Motorsport, CUPRA TCR DSG)
84 Sabatino Di Mare (CUPRA TCR DSG)
85 Giorgio Fantilli (CUPRA TCR DSG)
86 Alessandro Berton (CUPRA TCR DSG)
90 Denis Babuin (Bolza Corse, CUPRA TCR DSG)
93 Omar Fiorucci (Audi RS 3 LMS DSG)