CUPRA EKS announces Blomqvist, Ekström, Gené and Tambay for 2022 FIA ETCR season

CUPRA EKS has announced the driver line-up for its debut FIA ETCR season, fielding four Cupra e-Racers for Mattias Ekström, Jordi Gené and newcomers Tom Blomqvist and Adrien Tambay.

“We are very pleased to announce our exciting CUPRA EKS driver line-up for this year’s FIA ETCR eTouring Car World Cup,” said Xavi Serra, CUPRA Racing Head of Technical Development.

“To bring drivers of the calibre of Tom Blomqvist and Adrien Tambay into the all-electric series for the first time is something very special, and we are sure they will adapt well and score very good result – whilst in Mattias Ekström and Jordi Gené we have the experience, race winning skill and continuity that every team dreams of having.”

EKS has taken over the CURPA FIA ETCR programme for 2022 from Zengo Motorsport, following a successful 2021 season where Ekström claimed the inaugural ETCR drivers’ title.

While Ekström and Gené will continue to race for the Spanish manufacturer in the ETCR, former DTM drivers Blomqvist and Tambay are new to the championship.

“I’m very motivated. I believe this is going to be a massive experience for me, as the FIA ETCR championship is a step forward in electric racing. I’m proud to have joined CUPRA EKS for this adventure. We are really determined, and the goal is to win,” said Blomqvist.

“I can’t wait to start the season. Last year the team made history. This year, the challenge is to go for the FIA ETCR championship and I am here to help achieving this objective. My passion for racing has no limits and sharing this passion with such a great team will inspire me to perform my best on the track,” said Tambay.