Photo: Hyundai

Mikel Azcona to head Hyundai Nürburgring entry

Reigning WTCR champion Mikel Azcona has been confirmed as the lead driver for Hyundai’s defence of the TCR class in the upcoming Nürburgring 24 Hours.

The Spaniard – who sits second in the new TCR World Tour standings after round one in Portugal – will once again line up alongside Marc Basseng and Manuel Lauck at the wheel of one of two Elantra Ns being entered into the 2023 edition of the round-the-clock race.

Mason Filippi, Harry Gottsacker, Taylor Hagler and Michael Lewis – who all race the Elantra in the USA with the Bryan Herta Autosport team – will share the second car.

Both Elantras raced in the N24 Qualifiers last month, scoring a 1-2 finish in class in both of the races run.

“The Nürburgring 24 Hours remains one of the toughest races in the world, so it is the perfect place to show the Hyundai Elantra N TCR’s blend of performance and reliability,” Hyundai Motorsport Customer Racing Manager Andrea Cisotti said.

“We are in the position of defending our wins from the last two seasons, so we know the pressure will be on us. However, with the driver line-ups we have in both TCR cars we have everything in place for repeat success.

“Mikel, Marc and Manuel showed beyond a doubt last year how strong they are as a team, and our four American drivers are very experienced, showing good pace in preparation for their N24 debut, including the two second places at the N24 Qualifiers.

“With the support of the Hyundai Motorsport Customer Racing department, I am sure we can add another winning chapter to the history of Hyundai at the Nürburgring.”