Photo: TCR UK

Chris Wallis returns in Hyundai for 2022 campaign

Chris Willis will return to the TCR UK series for a full year in 2022 after inking a deal to join forces with Power Maxed Racing.

Wallis has been involved with the team for a number of years in the Focus Cup, VW Racing Cup and in TCR UK, where he contested the Brands Hatch meeting last year in his Hyundai i30 N TCR.

An unfortunate incident last year resulted in Wallis being forced to change his plans for the remainder of the campaign and with the i30 now fully rebuilt, he will now return to the grid as the latest member of PMR’s multi-car line-up alongside Cupra pair Russell Joyce and Callum Newsham.

“Having returned to racing in 2020 driving the Power Maxed Focus, it was great to agree a continued association with the team for 2021 in the VW Cup and TCR UK Championship,” he said.

“Unfortunately, due to a big accident half way through the season, plans changed, and I began looking to build a program for 2022 in TCR UK. For me, the team and team mate relationship is really important, and I feel fortunate to be part of the PMR brand again for this season. Their professionalism and ability cannot be questioned, and I have no doubt will provide me with a car that is capable of delivering good results.

“The 2022 TCR UK series is going to be an impressive championship and with the support of ‘eorge Boyd Commercial Doorsets, and my own ‘Focus Brand’ I’m looking forward to the challenges that it will bring. I will have to dig deep I’m sure, but I am confident that I have the support, and right people around me to deliver the best I can.”

TCR UK – 2022 Entry List (25 March):

Lewis Kent – Essex & Kent Motorsport – Hyundai Veloster N TCR
Bradley Kent – Essex & Kent Motorsport – Hyundai i30 N TCR
Scott Sumpton – Essex & Kent Motorsport – Hyundai i30 N TCR
Jessica Hawkins – FastR – Cupra León TCR
Jamie Tonks – FastR – Cupra León TCR
Bruce Winfield – Area Motorsport – Cupra León TCR
Matthew Wilson – JW Bird Motorsport – Cupra León Competición TCR
Rob Butler – JW Bird Motorsport – Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR
Alex Ley – Daniel James Motorsport – Hyundai i30 N TCR
Brad Hutchison – MPH Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS
Hugo Cook – Simpson Motorsport – Audi RS 3 LMS
Ant Whorton-Eales – JamSport – Subaru WRX STI TCR
Simon Tomlinson – JamSport – Cupra León TCR
Mark Havers – T4 Motorsport – Cupra León TCR
Russell Joyce – Power Maxed Racing – Cupra León TCR
Chris Wallis – Power Maxed Racing – Hyundai i30 N TCR
Callum Newsham – Power Maxed Racing – Cupra León TCR
Steve Gales – TBC – Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR
Isaac Smith – Race Car Consultants – Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR