Gordon Shedden voted TouringCarTimes Driver of the Year

Honda Racing Team’s Gordon Shedden has been voted as the TouringCarTimes Driver of the Year for 2012 by readers of the site.

The Scotsman, who won his maiden British Touring Car Championship title at Brands Hatch in October, was presented with his award by TcT at Donington Park.

Shedden joins previous winners Rob Huff, Jason Plato, Colin Turkington, Yvan Muller and Mattias Ekström in the TouringCarTimes hall of fame.

He said: “It was an exciting year, and maybe a little bit of this is brought on by me having more heart-in-mouth moments than anyone else.

“It is fantastic to get that kind of recognition. People can understand the issues we were having as the year went on.

“It was a great year and a great effort from everybody at Honda. To go to the last round with both Matt and I again having the chance to win the championship. It is as much for them as it is for me.”

TouringCarTimes Driver of the year – Hall of fame

2007: Mattias Ekström
2008: Yvan Muller
2009: Colin Turkington
2010: Jason Plato
2011: Rob Huff
2012: Gordon Shedden