Photo: TCR Germany

Jason Wolfe inherits his first win after 15 drivers penalised at Zandvoort

Engstler Motorsport’s Jason Wolfe has been confirmed as the winner of the first race today at Circuit Zandvoort, after 15 drivers including race winner Niels Langeveld received 30-second penalties after the race.

The dramatic race has been significantly shaken up by the penalties, with 22-year-old American Jason Wolfe awarded the victory ahead of Bas Koeten Racing’s Rik Breukers, with reigning champion Josh Files given the final spot on the podium in the Target Competition Honda.

Alex Morgan is now classified in fourth in the Wolf-Power Racing SEAT ahead of Thomas Kramwinkel in the GermanFLAVOURS Racing Audi, who’d originally been classified in tenth.

The three Target Competition Audis of Tim Zimmermann, Gosia Rdest and Simon Larsson now follow, with Niko Kankunnen classified ninth in his LMS Audi RS 3, with Ronny Jost completing the top ten in the TOPCAR Sport SEAT León.

The penalties were split into two groups, with half of them awarded due to an infringement at one of the safety car restarts. The second group of penalities were given to those who changed tyres on the grid after the three-minute signal was given after the first red flag, when many made the call too late to switch from slick to wet tyres.

Racing One driver Niels Langeveld’s penalty drops him from first to 15th in the final classification, with the other drivers to receive penalties behind him, including Max Hofer, Mike Halder, Luca Engstler, Sheldon van der Linde, Antti Buri, Steve Kirsch, Harald Proczyk, Fabian Danz, Sandro Kaibach, Sven Markert, Jürgen Schmarl, Pascal Eberle, Loris Hezemans and Stefan Goede.

The results remain provisional subject to any appeals being raised by the teams.