Photo: ADAC TCR Germany

HP Racing switch to Hyundai for 2019

Defending champions HP Racing will switch to Hyundai for the 2019 ADAC TCR Germany season.

The Austrian outfit ran a pair of Opel Astra TCRs in the series last season for Harald Proczyk and Luke Wankmüller, with Proczyk taking three wins as he beat Luca Engstler to the title.

Proczyk will now return for another season in 2019 but will be joined by Lukas Niedertscheider.

Niedertscheider raced for the team in a one-off at Hockenheim back in 2016 before spending the last two seasons with his own Niedertscheider MSP team.

Having managed just a single top eight finish last year in a Peugeot, he will now hope to impress on his return to HP Racing as the team becomes the latest to switch to the Hyundai i30 N TCR for 2019.

“This is just mega,” he said. “I will compete for another year in ADAC TCR Germany but this season is all different as I join a new team in reigning champions HP Racing International with a new team-mate in Harald Proczyk and with a new car in the Hyundai.”