Photo: TCR Series

Eight-car entry for TCR Iberian season opener

The first round of the resuscitated TCR Iberian series will count with eight entered cars at Estoril this weekend.

In addition to yesterday’s announcements, Daniel Teixeira and Joaquim Santos will share a Cupra TCR DSG at the Estoril track.

The series, continuing with the TCR Portugal championship’s sporting regulations, will allow a car to be shared between two drivers, each competing in a separate qualifying and race each.

Teixeira is a pilot in the Portuguese air force, and participated at selected rounds of the Portuguese TCR championship last year. Santos also has previous motorsport experience, although limited to rallying and rallycross and will be making his circuit racing debut.

Pedro Marques will participate at Estoril with a Cupra TCR, with a Kia Cee’d TCR also entered by CRM Motorsport, although no driver has been named yet.

The first round of the 2019 TCR Iberian series starts at 15:10 CEST for qualifying sessions, with Race 1 at 18:40 CEST on Saturday and Race 2 at 13:35 CEST on Sunday.

Entry list

No – Driver – Car
4 – Robin Vas – Honda Civic Type R FK8 TCR
5 – No driver yet – Kia Cee’d TCR
6 – Daniel Teixeira/Joaquim Santos – Cupra TCR DSG
10 – Gabriela Correia – Cupra TCR DSG
23 – Mattias Vahtel – Honda Civic Type R FK8 TCR
24 – Gustavo Moura – Audi RS 3 LMS
26 – Francisco Mora – Cupra TCR
40 – Pedro Marques – Cupra TCR