Photo: ADAC Motorsport

Antti Buri clinches his second victory of the season at Most

LMS Racing’s Antti Buri, at the wheel of an Audi RS 3 LMS, scored his second victory of the year in the second TCR Germany series race at Most. The Finn won the race after a heated battle with Pyro Motorsport’s Bradley Burns, driving a Honda Civic Type R TCR.

Buri started from second place on the reversed grid, with Burns in pole position. At the start, Burns took the lead with Team Honda ADAC Sachsen’s Dominik Fugel getting ahead of Buri and Max Hesse in fourth.

Jan Seyffert stopped at the pit entrance on the second lap with no propulsion in his Opel Astra TCR of Lubner Motorsport, as VW Team Oettinger’s Mitchell Cheah went off the track for several corners, narrowly avoiding other competitors as he returned to the track.

At the front, Burns opened a gap as Buri closed the distance to Fugel, attacking the Honda at the chicane. Team Honda ADAC Sachsen’s Mike Halder overtook Hesse for fourth place on lap eight, also at the chicane.

Fugel continued defending Buri’s attacks as the pair also closed the gap to leading driver Burns. Buri overtook Fugel for second place on lap ten and was then less than two seconds behind Burns.

Buri was right behind Burns on lap 16, with less than two minutes to go in the race. The Finn made the move on the final lap, with both making contact while going side-by-side. At the chequered flag, Buri took his second victory of the season by seven tenths of a second ahead of Burns, and Fugel crossing the line in third.

Halder was fourth, followed by Hesse and HP Racing International’s Lukas Niedertscheider, driving a Hyundai i30 N TCR, with Team Engstler’s Theo Coicaud in seventh.

Harald Proczyk, with the second Hyundai i30 N TCR of HP Racing International was eighth, followed by Julien Apotheloz at the wheel of the sole Cupra TCR on the grid from TOPCAR Sport. Steve Kirsch completed the top ten for IMC Motorsport.

Honda driver Halder leads the championship on 152 points, 15 points ahead of Hesse and 17 over Buri.

The next round of the TCR Germany championship takes place at the Red Bull Ring on June 7-9th.