Photo: TCR Germany

Dominik Fugel beats Bradley Burns by 36 thousandths to Zandvoort pole

Dominik Fugel beat Bradley Burns by 0.036 seconds to claim the TCR Germany championship pole position at Zandvoort in wet and windy conditions.

Harald Proczyk was third fastest behind the Honda duo for Hyundai team HP Racing International, with title rivals Mike Halder, who topped the first qualifying session, and Antti Buri, who heads the standings, behind in positions four and five respectively.

With points being awarded in the qualifying session, Buri’s championship lead has been reduced to eleven points over Proczyk.

Theo Coicaud claimed sixth position for Team Engstler, with Julien Apotheloz as the top Cupra driver in seventh position. Max Hesse, also of Team Engstler, rounded off the top eight in his Hyundai i30 N TCR.

Hyundai guest driver Lance David Arnold claimed tenth position and will start from the reversed grid pole position in the second race ahead of Audi RS 3 LMS driver René Kircher who was ninth fastest.

Jan Seyffert, switching from Opel to Lada this weekend, put the Vesta TCR on 13th position and just outside of the second qualifying session, over two seconds from the fatest time.

The first race of the weekend starts at 17:20 CEST today.