Photo: TCR Germany

ADAC takes over as TCR Germany promoter and issues 2020 calendar

ADAC will take over as promoter of the TCR Germany championship in 2020 from TCR Germany GmbH, a company headed by Franz Engstler, and has released a preliminary 2020 calendar.

“We are pleased with the strong development of TCR Germany over the past four years. We have now made the strategic decision to hand over the role as promoter to ADAC, opening up new opportunities to expand and strengthen the series,” said Franz Engstler, head of TCR Germany GmbH and owner of Engstler Motorsport.

ADAC will handle cooperation with the German Motorsport Federation (DMSB) and the global TCR rights holder WSC, while TCR Germany GmbH will provide organisational support.

“Together with the team around Franz Engstler, we have established an attractive platform for touring car racing in Germany over the past four years. We will restructure and further develop the ADAC TCR Germany in cooperation with the TCR Germany GmbH in a new constellation,” said ADAC Sports president Hermann Tomczyk.

The 2020 TCR Germany calendar features just as this year seven rounds, starting at Oschersleben in April and ending at Sachsenring in October.

The Zandvoort and Nürburgring rounds have switched places compared to this year, with the Nürburgring hosting the fourth round and Zandvoort the fifth in 2020.

The penultimate round will be held on September 20th while the venue for it is to be confirmed, a race this year held at Hockenheim.

German TV channel SPORT1 has been confirmed to continue broadcasting the championship in 2020.

2020 TCR Germany calendar

April 26th – Oschersleben, Germany
May 16th – Most, Czech Republic
June 7th – Red Bull Ring, Austria
August 16th – Nürburgring, Germany
August 23rd – Zandvoort, The Netherlands
September 20h – TBA
October 4th – Sachsenring, Germany