Tobias Brink claims first 2020 pole by 0.010 seconds from Robert Dahlgren

Last year’s runner-up Tobias Brink claimed the first STCC TCR Scandinavia pole position of 2020 during qualifying at Gelleråsen Arena, beating reigning champion Robert Dahlgren by ten thousands of a second.

The Brink Motorsport driver set a new qualifying lap record with 1:05.923 behind the wheel of his Audi RS 3 LMS.

Lestrup Racing Team driver Rob Huff claimed third position on the grid after struggling with several engine and electronic issues throughout the test sessions.

The 2012 WTCC champion beat PWR Racing driver Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky, who was hit with food poisoning yesterday, by just two thousands of a second.

Kågered Racing driver Emil Persson claimed fifth on the grid with his Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR while Lestrup Racing Team driver Oliver Söderström, who topped the Q1 session, finished an unhappy sixth.

Söderström dropped his left-front wheel while going out for his second attempt and had to park his car on the grass of the circuit infield.

Hannes Morin, who was first to break the 1:06 barrier during testing, was seventh fastest while Mikael Karlsson was eighth and last of the Q2 drivers.

Honda Racing Sweden driver Mattias Andersson just barely missed Q1 and will start ninth for the first race ahead of Volkswagen driver Andreas Ahlberg.

The Q1 results sets the grid for the first race, meaning that Söderström will start from pole position ahead of Lestrup Racing Team team-mate Huff and Persson.

The grid for the second race is set with the combined results of Q1 and Q2 while the third and final race grid is set by reversing the top eight positions of the Race 2 results.

The first race starts at 11:10 CEST tomorrow.