Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky heads PWR Racing 1-2 to second win of 2021

Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky claimed her second win of 2021 in the first race of the STCC TCR Scandinavia season finale at Knutstorp, heading a PWR Racing with team-mate Robert Dahlgren in second place.

Åhlin-Kottulinsky made a strong start and got ahead of pole sitter Dahlgren into the first corner. The duo kept a constant gap between each other of around 1.5 seconds throughout the race.

Norwegian driver Magnus Gustavsen was a casualty of the first corner chaos, running across the gravel and had to fight up from the back of the field to finish tenth.

Brink Motorsport driver Tobias Brink and Lestrup Racing Team driver Oliver Söderström held positions three and four during the race, never getting close to each other or to the Cupra duo at the front.

Mattias Andersson was a distant fifth behind the wheel of his Lynk & Co but was caught by the Volkswagen duo of Hugo Nerman and Mikael Karlsson.

Lestrup Racing Team driver Karlsson caught Andersson first, but was passed by Nerman on the outside of the hairpin with three laps left.

Andersson crossed the finishing line in fifth, 16 seconds behind Åhlin-Kottulinsky, with Nerman in sixth and Karlsson in seventh.

The second race of the season starts at 13:40 CEST.