FIA ETCR entry list officially confirmed

The entry list for the inaugural FIA ETCR eTouring Car World Cup has been officially confirmed, featuring 13 drivers spread across three manufacturers.

Defending champions Cupra return with Mattias Ekström carrying the #1 on his e-Racer, which is now being run by his own Cupra EKS team alongside series returnee Jordi Gené and two newcomers in the shape of Tom Blomqvist and Adrien Tambay.

Hyundai has already announced that five drivers will compete in the Veloster N ETCR, with Jean-Karl Vernay the only one of the four drivers who raced last year in PURE ETCR to continue into the first year as a full-blown FIA series.

WTCR title winner Norbert Michelisz will run double-duty this season, as will new Hyundai signing Mikel Azcona, who drove for Cupra last year.

The fourth car will be shared by Nicky Catsburg and Kevin Ceccon.

Romeo Ferraris meanwhile has also retained one driver from last year in the shape of Luca Filippi, with Maxime Martin, Bruno Spengler and Giovanni Venturini completing the line-up in the Giulia ETCR.

“The announcement of the inaugural FIA ETCR eTouring Car World Cup entry list is something many have been looking forward to and we surely can’t be disappointed,” FIA Touring Car Commission president Alan Gow said.

“Between the three manufacturers we have a line-up of proven professionals with an impressive track record in touring car and sportscar racing who will make the FIA ETCR one of the strongest touring car series out there.

“It will be interesting to see how all these talented drivers will cope with the unique demands of ETCR machinery. The entry promises fierce competition and gives us plenty to look forward to this season.”

Series director Xavier Gavory was also delighted with the announcement of the full season entry.

“One of our big stories for 2022 is the strength and depth of our driver line-up for our first season as the FIA ETCR eTouring Car World Cup,” he said. “Cupra EKS, Hyundai Motorsport and Romeo Ferraris will all field drivers of exceptional talent and there are sure to be fireworks on track. When you look at each squad you say wow!

“Each and every driver in the series has the potential to come out in front and we expect some monumental Battles. This weekend we start our season on the streets of Pau where the spectacle provided by these incredible teams and drivers is sure to delight and also enhance awareness of FIA ETCR and electric motorsport on a global scale.”

FIA ETCR eTouring Car World Cup Entry List:

#1 – Mattias Ekstrom – Cupra EKS – Cupra eRacer
#5 – Norbert Michelisz – Hyundai Motorsport N – Hyundai Veloster N ETCR
#7 – Bruno Spengler – Romeo Ferraris – Giulia ETCR
#10 – Tom Blomqvist – Cupra EKS – Cupra eRacer
#21 – Giovanni Venturini – Romeo Ferraris – Giulia ETCR
#25 – Luca Filippi – Romeo Ferraris – Giulia ETCR
#27 – Adrien Tambay – Cupra EKS – Cupra eRacer
#28 – Jordi Gene – Cupra EKS- Cupra eRacer
#31 – Kevin Ceccon – Hyundai Motorsport N – Hyundai Veloster N ETCR *
#36 – Maxime Martin – Romeo Ferraris – Giulia ETCR
#69 – Jean Karl Vernay – Hyundai Motorsport N – Hyundai Veloster N ETCR
#88 – Nicky Catsburg – Hyundai Motorsport N – Hyundai Veloster N ETCR *
#96 – Mikel Azcona – Hyundai Motorsport N – Hyundai Veloster N ETCR

* – Ceccon and Catsburg will share a car with the exact schedule for the two drivers to be confirmed