Photo: TCR Europe

Comtoyou Racing announces roster for TCR Europe title defence

Comtoyou Racing has unveiled a four-car line-up with which it aims to defend its clean sweep of TCR Europe titles, as well as announcing its TCR World Tour roster in 2023.

Last season’s TCR Europe runner-up Tom Coronel and Diamond Trophy winner Viktor Davidovski remain with the Belgian team, which has also recruited John Filippi and previously announced former rallycross driver Kobe Pauwels.

Frederic Vervisch and 2012 World Touring Car champion Rob Huff will lead the team’s TCR World Tour effort, bringing the team’s entry to six during the three TCR Europe sanctioned events on the World Tour calendar.

Robin Van Hemelrijck, Comtoyou Racing’s TCR Europe Project Leader, said: “TCR Europe is a fine championship and 2023 is shaping up to be particularly good, with a good calendar and very strong competition. We have four drivers in our ranks to defend the four titles – Teams, Drivers, Diamond and Rookie – which we won last year.

“Tom Coronel is a loyal member of Comtoyou Racing and he played a leading role in the championship last year. Like Viktor Davidovski, he will bring stability. New to the team will be John Filippi, who has a great deal of experience in Touring Car racing and will be able to bring that experience to the team, and Kobe Pauwels, a young talent in whom we have a great deal of faith. We cannot wait for the season to start.”

Team Principal Jean-Michel Baert added: “In Comtoyou Racing we have always enjoyed a challenge. Every achievement is just a step towards the next goal. The season ahead of us promises to be the most intense in our history.”

Comtoyou Racing took an unprecedented sweep of all four TCR Europe titles last season, with Franco Girolami claiming the drivers’ crown alongside Davidovski’s Diamond Trophy success and the Teams’ championship. Additionally, Marco Butti won the Rookie title.

The team will also continue using the Audi RS 3 LMS TCR, the latest iteration of which made its full-season debut last year.