Audi launches 2014 RS 5 DTM

Audi has revealed its 2014 spec RS 5 DTM at the Geneva Motorshow.

Originally launched as the A5 DTM in 2012, it was rebranded as the RS 5 DTM for the 2013 DTM season.

Mike Rockenfeller and Phoenix Racing took the drivers’ and teams’ titles in 2013 with the car.

At the launch of the 2014 spec machine, Audi Sport’s head of design, Stefan Aicher, said the Ingolstadt manufacturer has focussed on small suspension and aerodynamic details to improve the car’s performance for the 2014 DTM season which starts on May 4 at Hockenheim.

The 2014 RS 5 DTM also carries over the honeycomb grille from its road-going counterpart.

“In addition to the suspension, our main priority was to improve the aero,” said Aicher. “We made suspension modifications to the front and rear axles, from which we expect improvements.

“The DTM rules are strict, which is why minute detail work is required within the tight limitations.”

The liveries for the 2014 RS 5 DTM will be revealed to the public at the first official pre-season test at the Hungaroring from March 31 to April 3.

The second and final test will take place at Hockenheim from April 14 to 17.

Audi’s 2014 DTM driver line-up remains largely the same as 2013, but Swiss driver, Nico Müller, will join Audi’s DTM squad from Formula Renault 3.5 to replace Filipe Albuquerque.

The Portuguese has moved to Audi’s GT programme in the United SportsCar Championship after two seasons in the DTM.

Another change in the line-up is the move of 2008 and 2009 DTM champion Timo Scheider, now joining 2013 title winners, Rockenfeller and Phoenix, after seven seasons with the Abt team.

Jamie Green will switch to Rosberg Audi after just one season with Abt, exchanging places with Edoardo Mortara.

Audi’s 2014 driver line-up:

Audi Sport Team Phoenix: Mike Rockenfeller/Timo Scheider

Audi Sport Abt Sportsline: Mattias Ekström/Miguel Molina/Adrien Tambay/Edoardo Mortara

Audi Sport Team Rosberg: Jamie Green/Nico Müller