Photo: Audi Media Info

Audi’s DTM driver line up remains unchanged for 2015

Audi Sport will retain all its eight drivers for the 2015 season of the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters. The announcement was made by Dr. Wolfgang Ullrich, Head of Audi Motorsport, at the Sport Finale gala held by the manufacturer in Neckarsulm.

Audi pulled a tremendous team effort in the second part of the 2014 DTM season to snatch the Manufacturers’ title from BMW’s grip at the last race held in Hockenheim. Mattias Ekström was the only winner for Audi in 2014, with two victories in the last two rounds of the season, but the Ingolstadt drivers were regular podium visitors.

With a strong emphasis on continuity, the Audi drivers have been rewarded with a full extension of their appointments for the 2015 season. Mattias Ekström, Mike Rockenfeller and Timo Scheider, all former DTM champions, will head the squad’s effort in 2015. Jamie Green, Miguel Molina, Edoardo Mortara, Nico Muller and Adrien Tambay were also confirmed for next season, in what Dr. Ullrich classed as “a strong line up”.

Audi Sport Teams Abt Sportsline, Phoenix and Rosberg will be in charge of managing the eight Audi RS 5 DTM fielded for next season. The driver pairings and team allocations will be confirmed at a later date.