Photo: TCR Asia

China, Korea, Malaysia and Thailand on 2018 TCR Asia Series calendar

The calendar for the 2018 TCR Asia Series has been revealed, featuring races in China, South Korea, Malaysia and Thailand.

“For 2018 we wanted to focus on consistency and continuing to assist the national series’ with their emerging markets,” said series promoter David Sonenscher.

The series will continue cooperation with TCR Thailand and TCR China, with the newly founded TCR Korea also joining the list.

“For Asia, there is now the addition in 2018 of TCR Korea – which will join us for the fourth event of the year to give their teams the opportunity to compete against Asia’s best – whilst there is also news that new cars are being sourced from Hyundai, Audi, Volkswagen and Honda for competition throughout the region this year. We’re also fielding regular requests for information from new and established Asian teams, so interest is strong,” said Sonenscher.

The 2018 season with start with two days of testing at Sepang in Malaysia, the same venue for the season start on April 1st.

The season runs for five races, ending at Shanghai in China on October 5th, a venue also including an invitational endurance race on October 7th.

2018 TCR Asia Series calendar
30 March-1 April – Sepang, Malaysia*
1-3 June – Buriram, Thailand*
13-15 July, Bangsaen, Thailand*
25-26 August – Korea International, South Korea
4-5 October – Shanghai, China
7 October – Shanghai, China [SIC888 – endurance]